Mk3 Refresh

xstian81
NWAA Supporter
NWAA Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 155
Joined: 06 Aug 2014, 15:02
Bike Owned: Mk3 CRM
Location: Norfolk
Re: Mk3 Refresh

Post by xstian81 » 24 Apr 2021, 07:49

Image

Unfortunately, shortly after taking this photo the bike broke down on me. Excluding punctures, it has only ever stopped working once and that was through some very deep river crossings in Wales, which it did restart from eventually. It wouldn't run on idle and would stall at low speeds, until eventually it wouldn't start at all. I think is probably just dirt in the carb, maybe from spraying the tank. I managed to ride it to the road and then I had to push it 2 miles and left it at a local business that sells fire wood and coal. I'm going back this morning with a trailer to pick it up.

xstian81
NWAA Supporter
NWAA Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 155
Joined: 06 Aug 2014, 15:02
Bike Owned: Mk3 CRM
Location: Norfolk
Re: Mk3 Refresh

Post by xstian81 » 28 Apr 2021, 17:17

I gave the carb a quick clean out today, but no difference. I'm pretty sure its a fueling problem, the bike tries to start but won't. If I do get it started it, I have to rev it to keep it going other wise it will stall, even then it runs rough and it difficult to stop it stalling. I assume the pilot circuit is blocked? It ran fine on the morning I broke down, but progressively got harder to start and keep running until I couldn't get it started at all.

I've pulled the carb off again and will give it a better clean. My ultrasonic cleaner is broken so going to just leave it to soak over night. I've also fitted a inline filter now. I pulled the plug out and that was wet, but that was after I had been trying to start it. I'll put a new one in to be on the safe side.

xstian81
NWAA Supporter
NWAA Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 155
Joined: 06 Aug 2014, 15:02
Bike Owned: Mk3 CRM
Location: Norfolk
Re: Mk3 Refresh

Post by xstian81 » 05 May 2021, 07:48

This turned out to be an electrical problem in the end. I sprayed a couple of plugs with contact cleaner and it seems to have fixed it, for now.


Post Reply