Hi from Scotland

If a new member, introduce yourselves here, maybe even a pic of your bike.
ss50scott
New kid on the block
New kid on the block
Reactions:
Hi from Scotland

Post by ss50scott » 24 Oct 2015, 22:25

Newbie here from Scotland, recently purchased a nice MK1 so thought I'd join up and say hello. Been wanting to do some off roading for a while, nothing serious just mucking about up lanes/tracks etc. Was really after a 70s DT or TS but the CRM came up locally so I went for it. To be honest its a bit modern for me lol, more used to 70s bikes and earlier (also got a few Brits). Big stroker fan though 8-)

Heres a couple pics of the bike. I am going to change the tyres over winter as they may be good off road but are absolutely terrible on the road, especially in the wet - its like riding on ice!

fallenmikethebike
NWAA Supporter
NWAA Supporter
Reactions:
Bike Owned: MK3
Re: Hi from Scotland

Post by fallenmikethebike » 25 Oct 2015, 10:38

Hi Scott, welcome to the forum.
Have you tried reducing the pressure in the rear tyre? 14 psi should be fine for road and trail work.
Alternatively, try a pirrelli MT43, Trials tyre, these work well in rocky/ stony conditions, and with practice will also find drive in muddy conditions. They wear down quite quickly initially, then last for ever. I would suggest putting one at this time of year to see you through the winter/spring, then replace at this time again next year.The added bonus is they are also a lot easier to fit.
The MK1 looks tidy,and that model doesn't suffer as much with PGM issues.
Mike
VFORCE REEDS-MUGEN HEAD AND BARREL-WHITE POWER-ALL ON MY WISH LIST!!

ss50scott
New kid on the block
New kid on the block
Reactions:

Post by ss50scott » 25 Oct 2015, 17:19

fallenmikethebike wrote:el doesn't suffer as much with PGM issues.
Mike
PGM?