Knocking and temp light

2stroke
NWAA Supporter
NWAA Supporter
Reactions:
Bike Owned: mk3
Knocking and temp light

Post by 2stroke » 17 Dec 2014, 13:05

Hello all, as you will know I bought my mk3 few days ago. I fettled with a bike over 2 days: cleaned the carb and tank, added inline fuel filter, serviced calipers, topped up the fluids, adjusted oil pump and generaly got accustomised with a bike (I am new to 2 strokes). Other half of my time I have spent reading forums ... :) One story especialy made impression on me: it was on some other forum, can't remember. The guy bought seized mk1, rebored 2 more times ,struggled a lot, spend lots of money and in the end, I think it was still fucked. Anyway... There are few things I need to sort it out: leaking forks, front wheel bearings...etc. I have to say,my bike looks to be in good original condition. 9500 miles. Been standing for 3-4 years with previous owner. So I have started the bike today for a second time, just idling and warming up- idling quite ok and I noticed 2 things: 1- there are some knocking /rumbling in the engine. not constant but regulary. Sounded quite low pitch. Obviously it's some bearings need replacing. But do you think its urgent or I can still ride it for a bit? And is it main bearings or can be something else? Do I need to strip the engine already? Bloody 2 strokes... :) 2- temperature light came on after 15 min so I switched it off quickly. What could that be? Frayed temp sensor wire or bigger things? So journey began... :)Thanks for your help
P.S. Bike started easily

helisupp
NWAA Supporter
NWAA Supporter
Reactions:
Bike Owned: CRM AR (4)
Re: Knocking and temp light

Post by helisupp » 17 Dec 2014, 14:13

Hi 2stroke,

I thought long and hard about it and came up with only one real solution in my experience that fixes most mechanical things.

If you insert your credit card into the machine in the wall enough times and use what comes out, the fault will eventually go away. :lol:

2stroke